Globe series highlights five Charles Taylor nominees

A new five-part Globe and Mail series pits five Charles Taylor Prize finalists against each other to debate a question a day.

The prize — which includes a $25,000 awared — is awarded to the best in Canadian non-fiction, and this year includes nominees Stevie Cameron (author of On the Farm: Robert William Pickton and the Tragic Story of Vancouver’s Missing Women); Charles Foran (Mordecai: The Life and Times); Ross King (Defiant Spirits: The Modernist Revolution of the Group of Seven), George Sipos (The Geography of Arrival, about the author’s youth) and Merrily Weisbord (The Love Queen of Malabar, about Indian writer Kamala Das).

Writer Ian Brown won the prize in 2010 for his memoir The Boy in the Moon: A Father’s Search For His Disabled Son. The 2011 winner will be announced on February 14.