Lifetime Achievement Award

2024 CJF Lifetime Achievement Award Phillip Crawley

Philip Crawley honoured with CJF Lifetime Achievement Award: Phillip Crawley  

TORONTO – February 20, 2024 – The Canadian Journalism Foundation’s (CJF) Lifetime Achievement Award this year goes to Phillip Crawley in recognition of his inspiring leadership at the helm of one of Canada’s flagship newspapers and for his commitment to journalistic excellence and business success in Canada.

During his 25-year tenure as CEO and publisher of The Globe and Mail, Crawley steered the publication to new heights of excellence. Under his leadership, The Globe became synonymous with groundbreaking journalism, investigative reporting and fearless coverage of critical issues shaping the nation and the world, winning a record eight Governor General’s Michener Awards. During the same time period, The Globe won dozens of National Newspaper Awards and the CJF’s Jackman Award for Excellence in Journalism six times, more than any other newsroom.

CJF Board Chair Kathy English, who chaired the Lifetime Achievement Award jury, enumerates the many reasons Crawley was chosen: “His inspiring leadership, steadfast stewardship and outstanding successes guided Canada’s national newspaper — and our nation’s news wire service — through one of the most turbulent eras in global media. His commitment to journalistic excellence and business success in Canada is simply unrivaled.”

Crawley will be honoured at the CJF Awards ceremony on June 12 at the Royal York Hotel, Toronto. For tickets, tables and sponsorship opportunities, see contact information below or visit the CJF Awards page.

With a career spanning more than five decades, Crawley has left an indelible mark on the landscape of Canadian media through his dedication, vision and unwavering commitment to journalistic integrity.

Arriving in Canada from the northeast of England in 1998, Crawley brought experience in competitive markets to the task of guiding The Globe through a high-stakes media environment and to steering the publication through its readers’ migration to online news. Under his stewardship, the paper embraced the online environment, finding innovative ways to serve its community of readers.

Crawley’s influence on Canadian journalism extended beyond The Globe to the Canadian Press, where he served as chairman of the board of directors from 2007 to 2009, then as co-chair from 2010 until 2023.

Beyond the newsroom, Crawley has made numerous contributions to the broader media landscape. As a member of various governing bodies, including the Board of Directors of the Royal Society of Canada, he has played a pivotal role in shaping the direction of Canadian media and fostering a culture of excellence and innovation.

“The business of journalism is an infinite game;” says Hamlin Grange, “the rules are always changing and there is no defined end point. Writer Simon Sinek says that leaders with an infinite mindset build stronger and more innovative organizations. Among the six practices of an infinite mindset is to have a “just cause,” build trusting teams, and be willing to make drastic shifts to get back on the right path to achieve the just cause. Phillip Crawley’s infinite mindset as a leader is on full display in how he navigated the choppy waters of the newspaper business and Canadian journalism in general.”

Throughout his illustrious career, Crawley has remained steadfast in his commitment to upholding the highest standards of journalistic ethics and professionalism. His unwavering dedication to the truth, coupled with his keen editorial insight, has earned him the respect and admiration of colleagues and readers alike.

Crawley joins a distinguished group of CJF Lifetime Achievement Award winners including: Haroon Siddiqui, Michelle Ouillet, Kim BolanJohn HonderichThaioronióhte Dan David, Peter MansbridgeJean PelletierLloyd RobertsonMichel AugerPeter BreggJack SigvaldasonLise BissonnetteJoe SchlesingerSally ArmstrongKnowlton NashJune Callwood and Trina McQueen.

About the Lifetime Achievement Award

The annual Canadian Journalism Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a Canadian who has made an outstanding lifetime contribution over multiple decades to journalism. Individuals who have worked in any type of media (print, broadcast, digital) and in any journalism category (news, business, politics, sports, editorial cartoons, arts, etc.) are eligible for consideration. The recipient will have consistently demonstrated, throughout his/her career, a commitment to the highest journalistic standards and ideals. Their work and contribution to the field and society should serve as a model that inspires excellence in others.

Criteria for the Lifetime Achievement Award:

Among the items to be considered are:

  • Body of journalistic work during a multi-decade career
  • Contribution to their community and broader society through outstanding journalism
  • Recognition and respect from peers and audiences

**Note: Lifetime Achievement cannot be awarded posthumously. 

Judging Methodology
The judging panel is comprised of four to eight jurors (with bilingual representatives), who review all submitted entries through an online portal, rank the entries and then attend a face-to-face meeting or participate via conference call with their rankings to agree upon the recipient of the award. See this year’s jury.

The recipient will be recognized at the CJF Awards ceremony in June 2024.

Past Recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award

2023 Haroon Siddiqui
2022 Michèle Ouimet
2021 Thaioronióhte Dan David
2020 Kim Bolan
2019 John Honderich
2018 Peter Mansbridge
2017 Jean Pelletier
2016 Lloyd Robertson
2015 Michel Auger
2014 Peter Bregg
2013 Michael Maclear
2012 Jack Sigvaldason
2011 Patrick Brown
2010 Lise Bissonnette

2009 Joe Schlesinger
2008 Sally Armstrong
2007 Norman Webster
2006 Knowlton Nash
2005 Pierre Berton (posthumous)
2004 June Callwood
2003 Doris Anderson
2002 Trina McQueen
2001 Doug Creighton
2000 Mark Starowicz
1999 Bernard Derome
1998 Peter C. Newman
1997 Peter Gzowski
1996 Robert Fulford