The Landsberg Award


2023 Finalists

Molly Hayes, Tavia Grant and Elizabeth Renzetti for a Globe and Mail series examining intimate partner violence, and bringing coercive control into the broader public consciousness, revealing complex social challenges, but also viable solutions to intimate partner violence. Renzetti (2020) and Grant (2017) are past Landsberg Award winners.

Juanita Mercer for her coverage of the lack of pay equity legislation in Newfoundland and Labrador, which led to creation of Bill 3, the Pay Equity and Pay Transparency Act, published in The Telegram/Salt Wire Network.

Jana Pruden, for In her defence, with photography by Amber Bracken, an in-depth profile of Helen Naslund, interrogating through a feminist lens the structures and systems that trapped Naslund not only in a brutal marriage but also in a justice system that is not responsive to the realities of women’s lives.


The Landsberg Award is proudly presented by The Canadian Journalism Foundation in association with the Canadian Women’s Foundation.

The annual award celebrates a journalist who is raising awareness about gender equality and justice issues in Canada and seeks to inspire an increase in feminist media coverage and voices of women in Canada.
The award is named after Michele Landsberg—an award-winning Canadian journalist, author, social activist and feminist—to acknowledge the tremendous impact that she has had as an advocate and role model for all women in Canada. The award will inspire relentless and fearless journalists to consider Canadian news from a women’s equality perspective.


Articulate, tenacious, progressive and persuasive, award-winning former Toronto Star columnist Michele Landsberg is one of Canada’s best-known feminists and social justice activists. A fearless advocate for women and children over many decades, she uses words, in print and in person, to fight injustice, to attack oppressive power structures and policies, and to champion the cause of human rights, race and gender equality, peace and pluralism. Through her columns, she gave a strong public voice to many of those who would otherwise not be heard.


This award will recognize a working journalist (employed or freelance) doing exceptional research, analysis and writing through a gender lens about women’s equality issues in Canada.


The award recipient will receive a $5,000 prize from the Canadian Women’s Foundation.


Awarded to a working journalist (employed or freelance) who has done the most to shine a spotlight on women’s equality issues in Canada in print, broadcast or online news reporting in 2022. Entries involving more than one contributor are welcome and will be judged as a single submission. Submissions are welcome in the following formats: article, column, online piece, editorial, op-ed, radio program, podcast, television program or documentary film.


Jury available here.

Judging Methodology
The judging panel is comprised of four to eight jurors who review all submitted entries through an online portal, rank the entries and then attend a face-to-face meeting or participate via conference call with their rankings to agree on the recipient–and finalists, if applicable–of the award. The shortlist will be announced in April, with the winner announced at the CJF Awards ceremony in June 2023.



–  Christina Frangou for her independent character-driven stories in ChatelaineToronto Life and Reader’s Digest revealing discrimination in Canada’s medical and legal systems.


– Alyshah Hasham and Wendy Gillis, longtime courts and crime reporters for the Toronto Star, were joint recipients of the 2021 Landsberg Award in recognition of their stories addressing women’s experiences of male violence—including police workplace sexual harassment—and exploring potential solutions.

– Elizabeth Renzetti, columnist and feature writer with The Globe and Mail, for exploring issues such as biased design in space, the lack of female political leaders and why ideologically-motivated killing of women isn’t treated as terrorism.

– Connie Walker, investigative reporter and host of Missing & Murdered: Finding Cleo, the CBC News podcast, for her work exploring the story behind the true-crime mystery of the death of a Cree girl named Cleo Semaganis.

– Robyn Doolittle, investigative reporter with The Globe and Mail, for her Unfounded series exposing a pattern of mishandling sexual assault cases by police across the country.

– Tavia Grant, reporter with The Globe and Mail, who explored the trafficking of Indigenous women as well as the ongoing gender pay gap.
>> Read about the recipient

– Radio-Canada Enquête duo of journalist Josée Dupuis and producer/director Emmanuel Marchand, who found Indigenous women who were willing to talk about the racism, sexism, and sexual and physical abuse that they suffered at the hands of the police in the northern Quebec town of Val-d’Or
– Catherine Porter, a social justice columnist and feature writer with the Toronto Star, was recognized for a selection of her work as a columnist exploring systemic issues and delving into controversial topics
>> Read about the recipients

– Heather Mallick, staff columnist with the Toronto Star, on exploring the legal framework surrounding prostitution in other countries during Canada’s debate over laws governing the sex trade
>> Read about the recipient

–  Janet McFarland, business reporter with The Globe and Mail, on gender inequality on corporate boards
>> Read about the recipient
Twitter: #LandsbergAward

The 2022 Landsberg Award recipient, Christina Frangou, provided video remarks in acceptance of her award.

The Canadian Journalism Foundation is proud to present this award in association with:

The Canadian Women’s Foundation is a national leader in the movement for gender equality in Canada. Through funding, research, advocacy, and knowledge sharing, the Foundation works to achieve systemic change that includes all women. By supporting community programs, the Foundation empowers women and girls to move themselves out of violence, out of poverty, and into confidence and leadership. Launched in 1991 to address a critical need for philanthropy focused on women, the Canadian Women’s Foundation is one of the largest women’s foundations in the world. With the support of donors, the Foundation has raised more than $100 million and funded over 2,000 programs across the country. These programs focus on addressing the root causes of the most critical issues, and helping women and girls who face the greatest barriers.  The Canadian Women’s Foundation aims to be inclusive of diverse people across gender and sexuality spectrums. We focus our efforts on supporting those who face the most barriers and have least access to relevant services. This includes people who identify as women, girls, trans, genderqueer, non-binary, and 2SLGBTQI+. To learn more, visit