2017 CJF Awards


Chief International Correspondent and Presenter

View the event photos
– Watch the videos
– See the media guests

The CJF Awards is an evening dedicated to celebrating excellence in journalism. The CJF runs an annual awards program and supports recognition programs run by other organizations.


CJF Tribute
Jake Tapper
CNN’s chief Washington correspondent and host of the The Lead with Jake Tapper

Read more
View the introduction to Jake Tapper by Peter Mansbridge
View the video tribute
View Jake Tapper’s acceptance speech
> View Jake Tapper’s speech on CPAC

CJF-CBC Indigenous Journalism Fellowships
Julian Brave NoiseCat and Lenard Monkman
Read more
View the acceptance speeches

The Landsberg Award
Tavia Grant
The Globe and Mail > Read more
View the acceptance speech

Greg Clark Award
Jennifer Bieman
St. Thomas Times-Journal > Read more
View the acceptance speech

William Southam Journalism Fellowships
Natalie Alcoba, Vice Canada
Webster McConnell Fellow Naheed Mustafa, freelance producer, broadcaster and writer
CBC/Radio-Canada Fellow

Jim Rankin, Toronto Star
St. Clair Balfour Fellow Siobhan Roberts, freelace journalist and author
McLaughlin Centre Fellow Silvia Rosa, Valor Economico, Sao Paulo (not pictured)
Scotiabank/CJFE Fellow Esther Mngodo, The Citizen, Dar es Salaam, (not pictured)
Gordon N.Fisher/JHR Fellow

Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowship 
Michael Petrou
Freelance journalist and foreign correspondent

Read more
View the acceptance speech
Looking for opportunities to get involved? View the 2017 Sponsorship Package.

To purchase a table or four or tickets for 2018, please get in touch with Josh Gurfinkel at info@cjf-fjc.ca.

Thank you to our in-kind supporters:

The Canadian Journalism Foundation would like to thank: