2016 CJF Awards



Anna Maria TremontiHost, The Current, CBC Radio One


Photos – To see the guests, award presenters and recipients
Videos – To view the highlights, tribute videos and acceptance speeches
J-Source – To read the live blog of the CJF Awards
Media Room – For all awards updates
Sponsorship Package – For opportunities to get involved


CJF Jackman Award for Excellence in Journalism
CBC News |  large-media category
View the acceptance speech.

CJF Jackman Award for Excellence in Journalism
Telegraph-Journal  | small-media category
View the acceptance speech.

CJF Lifetime Achievement Award
Lloyd Robertson, longtime anchor for CTV National News who currently is host and chief political correspondent for CTV’s investigative news program W5, in recognition of a distinguished career in broadcast journalism.View the video tribute and his acceptance speech.

CJF Tribute
Tina Brown, former New Yorker and Vanity Fair editor now CEO of Tina Brown Live Media, in honour of a remarkable career shaping the cultural and media landscape. Watch the video tribute and her acceptance speech.
Harold Evans, former Sunday Times editor now editor-at-large for Reuters, in honour of an exceptional journalism career with significant impact. View the video tribute and his acceptance speech.

CJF Special Citation
The Boston Globe Spotlight Team, for exemplary investigative journalismView the video tribute and their acceptance speeches.

CJF Innovation Award
Discourse MediaView the acceptance speech.

CJF Aboriginal Journalism Fellowships
Stephanie Cram and Trevor Jang View their acceptance speeches.

The Landsberg Award
Catherine Porter, Emmanuel Marchand/Josée DupuisView their acceptance speeches.

Greg Clark Award
Jayme Poisson, investigative reporter, Toronto StarView her acceptance speech.

Tom Hanson Photojournalism Award
Eduardo LimaView his acceptance speech.

William Southam Journalism Fellowships
Katie Daubs, Toronto StarSt. Clair Balfour Fellow

Hugo de Grandpré , La Presse
Webster McConnell Fellow
Martine Laberge, CBC/Radio-CanadaCBC/Radio-Canada Fellow
James Lebans, CBC/Radio-Canada’s Quirks & QuarksThe McLaughlin Centre Fellow
Rodney Sieh, FrontPage Africa (Liberia)Gordon N. Fisher/jhr Fellow


Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy
Catherine WallaceAcceptance speech coming soon