RTNDA Canada announces Central Regional Award Recipients

The Association of Electronic Journalists (RTNDA Canada) has announced the Central region winners of its annual electronic journalism awards. The awards honour the best programs, stations and newsgathering organizations in radio and TV.

“Each of these awards are named after pioneers and innovators in the Canadian news business,” said RTNDA president Andy LeBlanc in a press release. “They would be pleased to see the quality electronic journalism in local news coverage today. Join me in congratulating all entrants, and especially those who will be walking up to the podium next month.”

The annual awards gala will take place May 7, 2011 in Waterloo, ON.

Here is the list of Central region winners, sourced from the RTNDA website:

Television winners:

Trina McQueen Award – News Information Program
• Global Toronto for Focus Ontario: A Piece of Myself

Charlie Edwards Award – Spot News
• CityTV for Barrie Missing Boys

Hugh Haugland Award – Creative Use of Video
• CTV Southwestern Ontario for Through the Eyes of an Officer
• Global Montreal for Costly Metro Cars (Honourable Mention)

Ron Laidlaw Award – Continuing Coverage
• Global Toronto for G20 Summit

Dave Rogers Award – Short Feature
• CTV Sault Ste. Marie for Life in a Box (Small Market)
• CTV Sudbury for Shocked (Small Market – Honourable Mention)
• CBC Windsor for A Dog Named Dia, A Horse Named Bliss (Medium Market)
• CBC Television for Photocopier Investigation (Large Market)
• CTV Ottawa for After the Fire (Large Market – Honourable Mention)
• CTV Toronto for Bieber Fans Concert (Large Market – Honourable Mention)

Dave Rogers Award – Long Feature
• Rogers TV for In Focus: Through Their Eyes (Small Market)
• Rogers TV Simcoe County for In Focus: Raise the Spirit (Small Market – Honourable Mention)
• CBC Windsor for Coast Team (Medium Market)
• A News Barrie for Hate into Hope (Medium Market – Honourable Mention)
• CityTV for Mark Dailey: In Memory of the Voice (Large Market)
• CityTV for Blinded by the Dark: Teen Depression (Large Market – Honourable Mention)

Dan McArthur Award – Indepth/Investigative
• CTV Southwestern Ontario for Chequing out Charities

Gord Sinclair – Live Special Events
• CP24 for Your Vote

Adrienne Clarkson Award – Diversity
• CP24 for Holocaust Education Week

Bert Cannings Award – Best Newscast
• A News Barrie for A News at 6 (Medium Market)
• Global Toronto for G20 Summit (Large Market)
• CityTV for Citynews at Six (Large Market – Honourable Mention)

Radio winners:

Sam Ross Award – Editorial/Commentary
• Newstalk 1010 for The Final Word with Dave Trafford

Creative Use of Sound Award
• 680 News for G20 Sound and Fury

Use of New Media Award
• 680 News for 680News.com

Peter Gzowski Award – News Information Program
• CBC Radio One for Thorncliffe Park Citizenship – Metro Morning

Charlie Edwards Award – Spot News
• 680 News for G20 Protests
• Newstalk 1010 G20 Violence (Honourable Mention)
• AM 640 Toronto for G20 Caught in the Riot (Honourable Mention)

Ron Laidlaw Award – Continuing Coverage
• Newstalk 1010 for The G20 Weekend in Toronto
• 680 News for G8 and G20 (Honourable Mention)

Dave Rogers Award – Short Feature
• CFBK Radio for G8 Countdown (Small Market)
• CBC Radio Sudbury for Suicide Watch (Medium Market)
• 680 News for Clublife (Large Market)

Dave Rogers Award – Long Feature
• CKNX Radio for The Day Vu Pham was Shot (Small Market)
• CBC Radio Sudbury for Mine Melodies (Medium Market)
• CFRA Radio for Afghanistan “The Dress Rehearsal” (Large Market)

Dan McArthur Award – In-depth/Investigative
• CFRA Radio for Ottawa’s On Street Prostitution Crisis

Gord Sinclair Award – Live Special Events
• CKNX Radio for The Vu Pham Funeral “The Healing of a Small Town”

Adrienne Clarkson Award – Diversity
• CBC Radio One for Turning Point Town Hall

Byron MacGregor Award – Best Newscast
• MIX 106.5 Owen Sound for 8 O’Clock News with Dan McLean (Small Market)
• AM 800 for 7:30am News (Medium Market)
• Newstalk 1010 for the 6 O’Clock News (Large Market)