PWAC launches two writing awards

The Professional Writers Association of Canada (PWAC) has created two writing awards for work that has appeared in “a paying Canadian print or web media outlet in 2009,” the organization announced.

One award is for feature-length stories (1,200 words or more) and the second is for pieces 1,200 words or fewer. The prize for each is $500 and a free one-year PWAC membership. This year’s deadline is March 19.

The entry fee is $25 for PWAC members and $50 for non-members (per entry).

The judges are:

  • Stephen Kimber, Communications Chair at the University of King’s College in Halifax
  • Elaine Kalman Naves, Montreal-based writer
  • Bilbo Poynter, executive director and founder of the Canadian Centre for Investigative Reporting
  • Maxine Ruvinsky: associate professor and chair of the School of Journalism at Thompson Rivers University 
  • Eric Siblin, Montreal-based writer
  • Jennifer Walker: senior content editor at Best Health magazine

Check the PWAC website for further information and entry requirements.