National Pictures of the Year award winners announced

The news photographers Association of Canada has announced the winners of its annual National Pictures of the Year awards. The awards were announced at the 2011 photojournalism conference in Winnipeg, earlier this week. Notably, the National Post‘s Tyler Anderson took home the photojournalist of the year award, and The Brandon Sun‘s Tim Smith won for photograph of the year.

“Each nominated piece encapsulates a significant moment in life, whether experienced by one person, or shared by millions at an event like the Olympics,” said organizer Ric Ernst in a press release.  “The judges found it extraordinarily difficult to select winners, but in the end felt those they chose captured the essence of a moment that will live on.”

For a full list of winners check out the release or visit NPAC’s website.