Jack Webster student journalism winners 2008

Seven B.C. students are the winners of the annual (since 2001) Jack Webster Foundation Student Journalism Awards.

Aside from the fame, each student also receives $2,000 towards their tuition.

The foundation was established in 1986 to honour excellence in B.C.-based journalism in memory of Jack Webster, who worked in print, radio, and TV for more than 40 years.

The awards have been supported by BC Hydro since 2001, the Hospital Employees’ Union (HEU) since 2006, and the Dennis Skulsky Student Journalism Fund since 2007.

Congrats to the 2008 winners:

  • Joel McKay from Kwantlen Polytechnic University
  • Cynthia Sohyoung Yoo and Megan Stewart from UBC Graduate School of Journalism
  • Joshua Hergesheimer and Jeff Lawrence from Langara College
  • Emma McLagan from BCIT Broadcast Journalism
  • Melissa Vasey from Thompson Rivers University