Hong Kong fellowship winners announced

Two journalism students and one working journalist have won this year’s fellowships from the Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ) and the Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government in Canada (HKETO).

Concordia University student Jillian Kestler-D’Amours and Ryerson University student Adrian Ma won the Hong Kong Student Fellowship. Canadian Business staff writer Sharda Prashad won the Dateline Hong Kong Fellowship for working journalists.

The winners were chosen by judges Toronto-based freelancer Saleem Khan, Mary Agnes Welch of the Winnipeg Free Press and Melissa Leong of the National Post.

Welch said in a release:

“We are delighted to send these fellowship winners to Hong Kong to learn
about such an important economic and cultural powerhouse. We’re sure the experience will make them even better journalists.”

The fellowship will pay for accommodation and airfare for a week-long trip to Hong Kong sometime in the next year and the journalists will publish the resulting work in Canada.