Canadian Journalism Foundation announces shortlist for Excellence in Journalism award

Accuracy, accountability, integrity, independence and courage.

Accuracy, accountability, integrity, independence and courage.

These fundamentals of journalism are reflected in the Canadian Journalism Foundation's short list for its Excellence in Journalism Award large-media category, announced this morning. The list includes newcomers to the Canadian media industry as well as steadfast staples and past winners of the award. The five short-listed outlets are:

  • The Canadian Press
  • The Current — CBC Radio One
  • Huffington Post Canada
  • Toronto Star
  • Winnipeg Free Press

Michael Benedict, chair of the judging panel, said in a press release that this year marked the most top-notch entries that had been received to date. "While the business of journalism faces ongoing challenges, it is gratifying that striving for excellence remains a driving force for so many media," he said.

The Award recognizes excellence in several areas that includes—on top of the five fundamentals already listed—social responsibility, diversity and professional development opportunities for employees in the newsroom.

Recent excellence winners in the large-media category include the Toronto Star, Winnipeg Free Press, The Globe and Mail, The Canadian Press and The Hamilton Spectator. An example of the Free Press’ winning submission from 2009 can be seen here.

The Excellence in Journalism Award for both the large-media and small-media categories will be announced at the CJF Gala on June 7 at the Fairmont Royal York in Toronto.