Application deadline approaching for documentary’s Don Haig award

The Don Haig Award for emerging documentary filmmakers is accepting applications for this year’s award until January 29.

The award, from digital television station documentary, provides the winning filmmaker with a $20,000 cash prize.

Previous winners include Brett Gaylor, Yung Chang, Hubert Davis and Guylaine Dionne. The award was created in honour of Don Haig, a longtime member of Canada’s filmmaking industry, who died in 2002.

For application details check the Hot Docs website. The award will be presented at an Awards Presentation during Hot Docs in Toronto (April 29 -May 9).