2009 Jack Webster award winners announced

British Columbia broadcaster Bill Good was awarded the Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award at the 23rd annual Jack Webster Awards in Vancouver on Oct. 20.

Jack Webster Foundation co-chair Neil Soper said in a press release:

“Bill Good’s contribution to excellence in journalism is enormous. From the listeners and viewers to whom he is a trusted voice and face, to the newsmakers to whom he is a fair-minded questioner and to his colleagues who consider him one of the best, Bill Good is well deserving of this prestigious award.”

In addition to the lifetime achievement award, the foundation handed out thirteen other awards.

The winners were:

  • Best Reporting of the Year – Print: Gary Mason, The Globe and Mail: The Olympic Village Scandal
  •  Best Reporting of the Year – Radio:  Steve Lus, Paisley Woodward, and Jennifer Leask, CBC Radio: CBC News Reality Check
  • Best Reporting of the Year – Television: (Presented in memory of Keith Bradbury) Kathy Tomlinson, Enza Uda, Eric Rankin and Paisley Woodward, CBC News at Six: Prescription for Profit
  • Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting: Tim Petruk, Kamloops This Week: Targeting Teens Within Seconds
  • Jack Webster Award for Science & Technology: Larry Pynn, The Vancouver Sun: Shifting Seas – A five-part series
  • Best Reporting Chinese Language: Winnie Hwo and Claudia Lau, Fairchild TV News & Current Affairs: Sin City North M26
  • Best Feature – Print: Denise Ryan, The Vancouver Sun: The Return of a Warrior
  • Best Feature – Radio: Curt Petrovich, CBC Radio: Rowing for Redemption
  • Best Feature – Television: Frédéric Zalac and Alex Shprintsen, CBC/Radio-Canada: The TaserTest/Taser: Essai Choc
  • Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award: (Endowed by Jean Cormier) Shannon Paterson, CTV British Columbia: Condo Crash
  • Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism: (Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia) Peter McKnight, The Vancouver Sun: Governing Through Crime
  • Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Online Journalism The CBC News Team, CBC News: BC Votes 2009
  • City Mike Award for Commentator of the Year: (Presented in memory of Linda Webster) Les Leyne, The Victoria Times Colonist