New online categories added to NMAs

The National Magazine Awards Foundation has added seven new categories to the 2009 awards series to recognize excellence in web-based magazine content and online-only magazines.

The seven new categories are:

  • Outstanding Use Of Digital Technologies
  • Best Visual Design
  • Best Cross-Platform Package
  • Best Web-Only Content
  • Best Repurposed Or Adapted Content
  • Best Community Feature
  • General Excellence In Online Magazine Journalism

According to the NMAF website, the online awards are open to Canadian print and online-only magazines and their Canadian contributors and further information will be available soon. The official call for entries will go out Dec. 1, 2009 and the deadline for submissions is Jan. 15, 2010.