International journalism awards

AAAS Kavli Science
Journalism Awards

Offered by the American Association for the Advancement
of Science, this award is available for any piece of journalism that is
published by a U.S.-based media outlet. There are a number of categories to
submit entries for, and each comes with a prize of $3,000.

The American
Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons National Media Awards

Presented by the ASCRS, this award seeks to recognize and
honour a job well done in presenting information about colon and rectal disease
to the public. There are five categories, including print, magazine, radio,
television and online, and the award comes with a $1,000 prize and an
all-expense-paid trip to Minneapolis.

American Society
of News Editors Awards

The ASNE offers a variety of awards recognizing
excellence in journalism. The awards, however, are only available to those
working full- or part-time at a news organization in the U.S. (or one outside
the U.S. that is still affiliated with the ASNE), so these are only available
to Canadian ex-pats.

Bart Richards
Award for Media Criticism

Presented by the College of Communications at Penn State,
this award honours excellence in news media coverage and analysis and comes
with a $1,000 prize. In addition to the prize, the winner will also be expected
to attend the award ceremony in Washington, D.C., and speak on the subject of
the article for which he is being honoured.

British Press

The UK’s most pretigious journalism award, the British
Press Awards are offered to any piece of award-worthy journalism published in
the UK in the previous calendar year.

Journalists for Free Expression International Press Freedom Awards

The CJFE offers two awards to any journalists in the
world—2008’s awards went to reporters from Sudan and Zimbabwe—that demonstrate
courage and perseverance in order to get the news out. Each award comes with a
prize of $3,000.

Casey Medals for
Meritorious Journalism

This prize honours excellence in reporting on children
and families in the United States and comes with a prize of $1,000.

The Dart Awards
for Excellence in Coverage of Trauma

Presented by the Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma,
these awards honour sensitive and thoughtful reporting on survivors of
traumatic events. The award comes with a $5,000 prize.

The Daniel Pearl
Awards for Outstanding International Investigative Reporting

Presented by The International Consortium of
Investigative Journalists, this award is given to a reporter from any country
that best exemplifies cross-border investigative journalism. There are two
first-place awards, each with a $5,000 prize.

Lange-Paul Taylor Priz

This award is given each year by the Center for
Documentary Studies and is offered to a writer and photographer team in the
early stages of a documentary project. The award comes with a $20,000 prize.

The George Polk
Awards In Journalism

Established in the memory of George Polk, a CBS reporter who was murdered while
covering a Greek civil war, these awards recognize special achievements in
journalism, with prizes offered in several categories, including print,
photojournalism and television.

The Grantham Prize

This prize honours the best environmental reporting of
the previous calendar year and comes with a prize of $75,000. Entries published
or broadcast in both Canada and the United States are eligible.

IJNR Great Lakes Journalism Fellowship

Presented by the Institutes for Journalism & Natural
Resources, this fellowship is available to both freelancers and those working
for a news organization, and is open to both Canadians and Americans. The
program includes sessions with researchers, policymakers and other stakeholders
over the course of nine days.

The James V.
Risser Prize

This award is presented each year to honour a piece of
journalism that focuses on Western environmental issues and comes with a $5,000
prize. (Entries are not limited to journalists from Western news organizations,
and the “West,” for the purpose of this prize, is defined to include the United
States west of the Mississippi River, Canada west of Ontario (including
Nunavut) and Mexico west of the 102nd meridian.)

Publishers of America National Magazine Awards

The American counterpart to Canada’s NMAs offers awards
in 30 categories—including blogging and podcasting, two honours that Canada’s
NMAs don’t offer yet.

The Michael Kelly

Named for famed American journalism Michael Kelly, who
was killed in 2003 while on assignment in Iraq, this award is available to any
article or collection of articles that best exemplifies Kelly’s journalistic
spirit (though all entries must be published in the U.S.). The winner will
receive a $25,000 prize.

National Headliner

Founded in 1934, this annual award honours excellence in
writing, photography, graphic design, and broadcast, and is available for any
piece of journalism published or broadcast in the United States.

National Press

The NPF presents a number of awards to recognize
excellence in broadcasting, print and online journalism.

The Pulitzer

Likely the most prestigious and highly regarded
journalism award in the world, the Pulitzer Prizes are (with a handful of
exceptions) available to a journalist of any nationality as long as the work
appears in an American newspaper.

RNA Awards for
Religion Reporting Excellence

This annual award offers nearly $6,000 in prizes and is
available to both Canadian and American entries. There are a number of awards
honouring various publication categories, including small and mid-sized
newspapers and student journalism.

The Rory Peck

Named for freelance cameraman Rory Peck, who was killed
in the 1990s while working in Moscow, the awards honour freelance cameramen and
women in TV news and current affairs reporting. Along with the awards, The Rory
Peck Trust offers bursaries to freelancers and also grants to the families of
those who have been killed or injured while working.

SAJA Journalism Awards

Presented by the South Asian Journalists Association,
this award honours excellence in coverage of South Asia and reporting from
South Asian journalists in Canada and the United States.

SEJ Annual Awards
for Reporting on the Environment

Presented by the Society of Environmental Journalists,
this award honours achievement in environmental coverage for 11 categories,
including a student journalism category. Each award comes with a $1,000 prize.

Worth Bingham
Prize for Investigative Journalism

Named for famed editor and writer Worth Bingham, a
Harvard grad, this award is presented by the Nieman Foundation for investigative
stories that tell of a situation where the public interest is being ill-served.
This award comes with a $20,000 prize.