Open: Dec. 4, 2017
Registration deadline for application portal: Feb. 7, 2018
Deadline: Feb. 14, 2018

As the recipient of the 2017-2018 Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy, Tanya Talaga, reporter with the Toronto Star, is exploring the alarming rates of youth suicide in Indigenous communities across Canada. View her acceptance speech.

2018-2019 Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy

The Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy provides a seasoned Canadian journalist with the financial means to pursue a year-long investigation into a current policy issue. This award is a collaborative project of the Atkinson Foundation, the Honderich Family and Toronto Star. Since 1988, the Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy has been awarded to a leading Canadian journalist on an annual basis.

Fellows are supported for a period of one year – from September 1 to August 31 – to investigate a current policy issue and write a series of articles for publication in the Toronto Star. During this period, the Fellow works exclusively on his or her project and receives a stipend of $75,000 and up to $25,000 for research expenses.


Atkinson Fellows in Public Policy are:

- Canadian citizens or landed immigrants
- Full-time practicing print, broadcast or online journalists
- Seasoned professionals who have achieved distinction in reporting on public policy issues.

Application Process

The application process for the 2018-2019 Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy is now open.

1. Register to access our simplified online application portal. All submissions are accepted online. Please register to access the portal before the end of day, Wednesday, February 7, 2018. Click here to register.

2. Upload your Letter of Intent by Wednesday, February 14, 2018. Once you are registered, you can submit your letter online. In no more than three pages, please provide your curriculum vitae and a summary of your story. The summary should:

- Outline the story’s importance to Canadian society
- Demonstrate your considerable familiarity with your chosen topic
- Articulate the specific policy questions you want to pursue

Selection Process and Considerations

Letters may be submitted in either English or French. The Selection Committee is open to research ideas on a wide range of topics. Preference will be given to issues that are at the forefront of public policy debate and have significant implications for Canadian society. The Fellowship will not be awarded to projects in history, anthropology, literature or folklore. You are encouraged to reflect on the Foundation’s mission: to promote social and economic justice. The Selection Committee uses it as the basis for its deliberations. All submissions will be reviewed. Before the end of February, finalists will be invited to submit full proposals for which they will receive an honorarium.

If you have any questions regarding the 2018 – 2019 application process, please contact Atkinson’s Director of Social Investment Jenn Miller at


2017 Tanya Talaga
2016 Catherine Wallace
2015 Michelle Shephard
2014 Gillian Steward
2013 Peter Goodspeed
2012 Michael Valpy
2011 Neil Sandell
2010 Ann Dowsett Johnston
For the full list of past recipients, visit the Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy page.