Excellence in Journalism Award



See the 2014 finalists for this award.


The Excellence in Journalism Award honours an organization that embodies exemplary journalistic standards and practices with a resulting impact on the community it serves.

It is one of the major journalistic awards of the year and the only national award given to a journalistic organization for overall extraordinary performance.

The award embraces ideals of originality, courage, independence; accuracy, social responsibility and accountability; and impact on the community; as well as diversity and professional development opportunities.

Winners in two categories are selected:
1) Large or national media
2) Local or regional media

Entrants are asked to fill in the online application form explaining how the organization ensures journalistic excellence and why it merits this award. Submissions should respond directly and succinctly to the selection criteria. Application fees are $50 for large media outlets and $25 for small media outlets.

This award opens in January, 2014. The finalists will be announced in April. The recipient is determined by a jury and will be announced at the 17th Annual CJF Awards held in Toronto on June 4, 2014.

Deadline extended: March 3, 2014, 5:00 p.m.

Application tips:

  • Be sure to describe, specifically and succinctly, policies and practices that address all points in the excellence criteria.
  • Provide an example or two of how your organization meets each criterion.
  • Previous winners and/or finalists from the previous two years should indicate what has been accomplished since their last award and/or submission.

This award is now closed.


The 2013 Canadian Journalism Foundation Excellence in Journalism Award recipient: the Winnipeg Free Press

Photo: The Canadian Press Images/Stephanie Lake

Paul Samyn (middle), editor of the Winnipeg Free Press, accepted the 2013 Excellence in Journalism Award in the large-media category. Dr. F.L.R. (Eric) Jackman (left), founder of the award and chairman of the Jackman Foundation, and John Macfarlane, past CJF chair, editor and co-publisher of The Walrus, presented the award.

Toronto/June 8, 2013 - The Winnipeg Free Press has won the Excellence in Journalism Award in the large-media category at the 16th Annual Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) Awards. This is the second time it has won the award.

The Tyee won in the small-media category, also for the second time. Both news organizations won in 2009.

"This award is for the reporters, photographers and the editors who have made our newsroom the best in Canada," said Paul Samyn, editor of the Winnipeg Free Press, upon accepting the award. "They have boundless imagination, energy, and commitment. What the CJF recognized is the way we practise our craft, the way we have answered the calling to care and dare to make a difference and the courage needed in pursuit of truth."

Other Excellence in Journalism Award finalists in the large-media category included CBC News: Special Investigations UnitThe Current - CBC Radio One (last year's winner), Postmedia News, and past recipient Toronto Star.

"The Winnipeg Free Press is a leader in reaching out to its community," says Murray Campbell, a member of the CJF Excellence jury.  "This is shown in its story selection, its staffing decisions and through innovations such as the News Café, which seeks to connect the paper to its readers."

Finalists in the small-media category included CBC New Brunswick, CP24, Turtle Island News and last year's winner, the Vancouver Observer.

Michelle Hoar, director of publishing and advertising of The Tyee, accepted the award, calling it "an incredible honour."

Speaking about the Excellence in Journalism small-media winner, Campbell said: "The Tyee continues to set a superb example of strong, provocative journalism."


Winnipeg Free Press
(large media)
Paul Samyn, Editor

The Tyee
(small media)
Michelle Hoar, Director of Publishing and Advertising

The Current (CBC Radio)
(large media)
Pam Bertrand, Executive Producer
Anna Maria Tremonti, Host

Vancouver Observer
(small media)
Linda Solomon, Founder and Editor-in-Chief

Toronto Star
(large media)
Michael Cooke, Editor-in-Chief

CBC Manitoba
(small media)
Cecil Rosner, Managing Editor

Toronto Star
(large media)
Michael Cooke, Editor-in-Chief

Metroland Durham Region
(small media)
Joanne Burghardt, Editor-in-Chief

Winnipeg Free Press
(large media)
Margo Goodhand, Editor-in-Chief

The Tyee
(small media)
David Beers, Editor-in-Chief

The Canadian Press
(large media)
Scott White, Editor-in-Chief

The Telegram
(small media)
Russell Wangersky, Editor-in-Chief

The Hamilton Spectator
(large media)
David Estok, Editor-in-Chief

The Guelph Mercury
(small media)
Lynn Haddrall, Editor-in-Chief

The Globe and Mail
Edward Greenspon, Editor-in-Chief

The Hamilton Spectator
Dana Robbins, Editor-in-Chief

CBC News
Tony Burman, Editor-in-Chief

The Record of Waterloo Region
Lynn Haddrall, Editor-in-Chief

CTV News
Kirk LaPointe, Senior Vice-President

CBC - Canada Now - Winnipeg
Cecil Rosner, Executive Producer

The Ottawa Citizen
Neil Reynolds, Editor

Maclean's Magazine
Bob Lewis, Editor-in-Chief

The Toronto Star
John Honderich, Publisher

CBC Newfoundland and Labrador Television News and Current Affairs
Bob Wakeham, Area/Executive Producer

The Telegraph-Journal and Evening Times-Globe of Saint John, New Brunswick
Neil Reynolds, Editor