The William Southam Journalism fellows are (from left to right): Katie Daubs of the Toronto Star; Hugo de Grandpré with La Presse; Martine Laberge of CBC/Radio-Canada and James Lebans of CBC/Radio-Canada's Quirks & Quarks. Not pictured: Rodney Sieh, founder and editor with FrontPage Africa (Liberia). Anna Luengo (far right) is the longtime administrator for the fellowships and the newly-appointed jury chair.


About the William Southam Journalism Fellowships

William Southam Journalism Fellows are outstanding Canadian journalists in mid-career who are selected to spend a year at the College. The objective of the fellowship program is to encourage improvement in journalism by offering to qualified men and women an opportunity to broaden their horizons by studying in a university setting.
Three or more fellowships for Canadian journalists are awarded annually, tenable for one academic year, September to May, at the University of Toronto. Fellows are selected by a committee appointed by the President of the University and the Master of Massey College. They are chosen for professional competence and future potential as effective and responsible journalists.
Applicants must have at least five years’ experience and be full-time news or editorial employees with Canadian newspapers, news services, radio, television, or magazines. Freelance journalists who have been working consistently in the media over a five-year period will also be considered.
Fellows are free to enroll in any graduate or undergraduate courses and use the full facilities of the University. There are no educational prerequisites for a Fellowship; Fellows do not receive credits or degrees for work done during the year.
The program typically combines general education with concentration in at least two courses; one academic course must be taken in full and all assignments completed.
In a parallel, extra-curricular program, the journalism Fellows meet regularly in informal seminars to discuss contemporary issues with personalities from a wide variety of professions.

To obtain the maximum benefit from the program, the applicants agree to refrain from professional work, including writing and broadcasting, during the period of the Fellowship. Personal holidays or travel is restricted to University holiday periods. Those selected are appointed Fellows-at-Large at the University of Toronto, with all the privileges of a Senior Resident at Massey College, the graduate college within the University.

The Fellowships underwrite: (1) for the eight-month university year, eight months of the Fellow’s regular gross annual salary at time of selection, but limited to $4,900 per month, a rate equivalent to $58,800 gross a year. The first monthly instalment will commence with an end-September payment and conclude with the end-April payment; (2) all university fees; (3) travel expenses up to the cost of economy air fare to and from Toronto for the Fellow and family; and (4) travel expenses for organized trips during the program.

The updated application form may be downloaded in PDF format or via the online application.

Deadline: March 1, 2017

For questions, contact:

William Southam Journalism Fellowships
Emily Mockler
Massey College
4 Devonshire Place
Toronto, Ontario  M5S 2E1

Tel: 416-978-6606

View the selection committee.
See last year's fellows.

Funding provided by:

In association with Canadian Journalists for Free Expression, Journalists for Human Rights and the Canadian Journalism Foundation, Massey College and the University of Toronto are grateful for the generosity of the Alva Foundation, the estate of the late St. Clair Balfour, Lisa Balfour Bowen and Walter Bowen, Clair Balfour and Marci McDonald, Wilson J.H. Southam, the R. Howard Webster Foundation, the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation, CBC/Radio-Canada, Scotiabank, the McLaughlin Centre and for the generosity of past Journalism Fellows.

Recipients of the 2016-2017 William Southam Journalism Fellowships

Katie Daubs, Toronto Star
St. Clair Balfour Fellow

Hugo de Grandpré, La Presse
Webster McConnell Fellow

Martine Laberge, CBC/Radio-Canada
CBC/Radio-Canada Fellow

James Lebans, CBC/Radio-Canada, Quirks & Quarks
McLaughlin Centre Fellow

Rodney Sieh, FrontPageAfrica (Liberia)
Gordon N. Fisher/jhr Fellow