The Canadian Journalism Foundation is grateful for the support of the following in-kind supporters for donating advertising space. The auction raised $52,500, which will go towards supporting CJF programs.

Proceeds from the auction will go towards supporting The Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF), a not-for-profit organization that promotes excellence in journalism by celebrating outstanding journalistic achievement through an annual awards program; by operating journalism websites, (English) and (French), in co-operation with the country’s leading journalism schools; by organizing events that facilitate dialogue among journalists, business people, government officials, academics and students about the role of the media in Canadian society; and by fostering opportunities for journalism education, training and research.


Auction Details

This online auction for prime advertising space in the National Post, The Globe and Mail, and the Toronto Star closed June 13 at 9:00 p.m., with the winner announced that same evening at the 16th Annual Canadian Journalism Foundation Awards at The Fairmont Royal York in Toronto.

Bids are to be made in minimum $500 increments. The opportunity to bid on the advertising space, each valued at $25,000, will fall under the following conditions:

•    Reserve bid $12,500
•    Applies to web-based or print-based advertising
•    Applies to insert distribution, full-colour ads
•    Can be passed on to a third party (e.g. Corporate-favoured charity or other party)
•    Standard Terms and Conditions of Advertising will apply to the ad space purchased. You can view the conditions for the
The Globe and Mail, the National Post,  and the Toronto Star.

Bids close at 9:00pm on June 13. The winners will be announced at the CJF Awards.

Every year, journalists, academics and business leaders come together to celebrate excellence in journalism at the CJF Awards. This year, Amanda Lang, senior business correspondent for CBC News and co-anchor of The Lang & O’Leary Exchange, will host the event. Ken Taylor, former Canadian ambassador to Iran, will present the Honorary Tribute to The New York Times. David Carr, business columnist and culture reporter with the Times, will accept the tribute on behalf of the editorial staff. The Lifetime Achievement Award recipient is Michael Maclear, broadcast journalist, war correspondent and independent filmmaker.  Lisa LaFlamme, chief anchor and senior editor of CTV National News will present the award.

Other awards that will be presented at the event include the Excellence in Journalism Award – which will be awarded to winners in two categories: large media and small media – the Greg Clark Award, the Tom Hanson Photojournalism Award, the William Southam Journalism Fellowships, the Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowship and the Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy.

For more information, contact