Every year, The Canadian Journalism Foundation supports and rewards excellence in Canadian journalism through its annual awards program and by supporting recognition programs run by other organizations. Check individual awards for open dates and deadlines.


CJF-Globe and Mail Internship for Investigative Journalism *NEW
This new opportunity will bring a journalist to The Globe and Mail to pursue a six-month long investigative journalism project under the guidance of editors and senior reporters. The annual internship allows a Canadian journalist early in his or her career (one to five years) to work with a senior team at The Globe and Mail in Toronto on an on-going investigation focussed on public accountability, corporate responsibility and government funding.
Deadline: February 24, 2017

CJF Innovation Award
At a time when news organizations are facing unprecedented challenges and demands for change, this new award recognizes innovations that have a demonstrated impact in advancing the quality of journalism. New for 2017: The CJF Innovation Award now offers the winning news organization a cash prize of $10,000, with thanks to the generous support of new award sponsor Chevrolet. 
Deadline: February 24, 2017

CJF Jackman Award for Excellence in Journalism
This award honours an organization which embodies exemplary journalism with a resulting impact on the community it serves.
Deadline: February 24, 2017

Lifetime Achievement Award
This award recognizes a substantial contribution by a Canadian journalist to the profession.
Deadline: February 24, 2017

CJF Tribute
This annual Tribute recognizes a media luminary or organization that has made an impact on the international stage.

CJF-CBC Indigenous Journalism Fellowships
These fellowships offer two early-career Indigenous journalists the chance to explore issues of interest. The fellows are hosted for one month by CBC News at its Indigenous Centre in Winnipeg. This award is supported by RBC Foundation, CN, and individual donors Rosemary Speirs, CJF honorary governor, and Isabel Bassett, former chair and CEO of TVO.
Deadline: February 24, 2017

The Landsberg Award
Named after Michele Landsberg--award-winning journalist, author, social activist and feminist--this award celebrates a journalist who is raising awareness about women’s equality issues in Canada and aims to inspire an increase in the media coverage and voice of women in Canada. The recipient receives a $5,000 prize. This award is presented in association with the Canadian Women's Foundation.
Deadline: February 24, 2017

Greg Clark Award
This award is designed to offer working journalists, early in his or her career, a professional development opportunity which will allow the individual to gain insight, strategic information and meet key decision-makers in a sector or issue they regularly cover. This award is sponsored by Shaw Communications and the Toronto Star.
Deadline: February 24, 2017

Tom Hanson Photojournalism Award
This award offers a six-week paid internship at The Canadian Press head office in Toronto to a photojournalist in the early stages of his or her career. The annual internship is designed to give a photographer trying to break into the business a chance to perform on the national stage. This award is sponsored by Nikon.
Deadline: January 13, 2017

Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy
This fellowship provides a seasoned Canadian journalist with $100,000 and an opportunity to pursue a year-long investigation into a current policy issue. This award is a collaborative project of the Atkinson Foundation, the Honderich Family and the Toronto Star.
Deadline: February 6 , 2017

William Southam Journalism Fellowships
Awarded annually by the University of Toronto and Massey College, these fellowships reward mid-career journalists with an academic year to audit any course in the discipline of their choice and to participate fully in life at Massey College and the University. In association with Canadian Journalists for Free Expression, Journalists for Human Rights and the Canadian Journalism Foundation, Massey College and the University of Toronto are grateful for the generosity of the Alva Foundation, the estate of the late St. Clair Balfour, Lisa Balfour Bowen and Walter Bowen, Clair Balfour and Marci McDonald, Wilson J.H. Southam, the R. Howard Webster Foundation, the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation, CBC/Radio-Canada, Scotiabank, the McLaughlin Centre and for the generosity of past Journalism Fellows. Awarded bi-annually, this fellowship allows the recipient to enjoy a one-year sabbatical at Harvard University. Funding is provided by The Martin Wise Goodman Trust to the Nieman Foundation for Journalism.
Deadline: March 1 , 2017

Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowship
Awarded bi-annually, this fellowship allows the recipient to enjoy a one-year sabbatical at Harvard University. Funding is provided by The Martin Wise Goodman Trust to the Nieman Foundation for Journalism.
Deadline: January 6 , 2017